News‎ > ‎

11 new cities accepted to ENO Green Cities Network

posted Sep 28, 2014, 11:17 PM by Mika Vanhanen

Growing in Mexico - Fiji, Ghana, Kosovo and Rwanda as new countries
- 11 new cities announced for ENO Green Cities Network

ENO Green Cities Network is  a supporting network for the ENO Programme. It differs from other green city networks as it's  based on educational co-operation between schools and  cities and sharing concrete practises for the environment between member cities.

As tree planting is the most  popular activity in the ENO Programme, the approach in ENO Green Cities is simple and easy to adapt.  In minimum, accepted cities have to offer areas, seedlings and assistance for tree planting activities of schools every year, at least once in a year. Cities take care that these areas will be safe and remain unconstructed. Cities will  get a membership in the ENO Green City Network and become official cities for ENO 100 Million Trees 2017 Campaign.  This campaign was highlighted in the overall summary of Rio+20 Summit commitments, out of over 700 pledges.

Eleven new cities joined  ENO Green Cities today. They come from Fiji, Ghana, Kosovo, Mexico and Rwanda. CONGRATULATIONS! Network covers now 53 cities or regencies in 19 countries.

Environment Online - ENO is a global virtual school and network for sustainable development. It has been running since 2000 and covers almost 10 000 schools in 157 countries. Tree planting has been the most popular activity in the ENO Programme. Schools aim to plant 100 million trees by 2017. ENO Headquarters lies in the city of Joensuu, Finland.  

More information:

ENO Programme Association
Siltakatu 12 B 14
80100 Joensuu, Finland

ENO Green Cities Network:


Argentina, Colonia Dora
Argentina, Godoy Cruz
Argentina, Lobos
Argentina, Maipú
Argentina, Rojas
Argentina, Puerto San Julián
Argentina, San Cayetano
Argentina, San Martin de los Andes
Brasil, Ribeirão das Neves
Brasil: São José dos Campos
Brasil, Sao Paulo
Brasil, Seropédica – RJ
Fiji, Nausori Town
Finland, Espoo
Finland: Joensuu
Finland, Kuopio
Finland, Lahti
Finland, Oulu
Ghana, Kenyasi, Brong Ahafo
India,  Delhi
Indonesia, Bantaeng
Indonesia, Lombok Timur
Indonesia, Medan
Indonesia, OKI Regency
Indonesia, Sekayu
Indonesia: East Southeast Nusa
Indonesia: Bandung
Indonesia: Mbay - NTT
Indonesia: Poso
Indonesia: Kendal
Indonesia: Langkat
Indonesia: Lubuk Pakam
Israel, Beer Sheva
Kosovo, Gjakove
Lithuania: Kaunas
Mexico: Huichapan, Hidalgo
Mexico, San Pedro, Nuevo León
Mexico, Santa Catarina, Nuevo León
Mexico, General Mariano Escobedo,Nuevo León
Mexico, García, Nuevo León
Mexico, Torreon Coahuila, Nuevo León
Mexico, Bahia Kino, Hermosillo, Sonora
Romania, Jimbolia
Romania, Timisoara
Rwanda, Nyanza
Slovenia, Ljubljana
South Africa, Cape Town
Sudan, Khartoum
Taiwan R.O.C, Taichung
Tanzania, Iringa
The Philippines, Iligan City
The Philippines: Indang